The fight for equality has not been won yet

In my post “Connecting ribbon to 2011” I quoted several sentences from a book I had begun reading by Kathleen Kent.  I was so impressed with her words on equality, and while I seriously doubt that people in 1649 expressed those sentiments like that, I trust that women in 2011 will see what the culture has always said about women.

I wrote to Kathleen and told her that I appreciated her words and that I am working every day for women’s equality in Baptist churches and other churches.  This is the reply I received from her.  After this email, I wrote again to her and asked her permission to use the email and her name.  She graciously gave me permission to do both.

Dear Shirley:

I was so moved reading your email.  I, too, was raised in a Baptist church in Texas, attending with my family, singing in the choir, until, as a young woman, I felt that the Baptist  convention was heading backwards regarding a woman’s right to equal partnership in religious rituals and practices.

You are a brave soul to speak in support of women’s voices in the church, and I’m so happy you reached out.  I wish you all the best in your endeavors.

Regards,

Kathleen 

Let others know when you find them speaking out for equality.  Today I am writing a letter to columnist Jonah Goldberg who touts a book by Kay Hymowitz “Manning Up: How the Rise of Women Has Turned Men Into Boys.”  He says in his column “Feminism still has much work to do in foreign lands” that the good news for those who want to continue the fight for women is that there is plenty of work left to do – abroad.

He obviously hasn’t attended any Baptist churches in the south or he would know that the book by Kay Hymowitz isn’t about women’s equality.  It is all about women emasculating men.  I heard her speak on tv and the way she spit out “equal” was disgusting.  I don’t have to read her book to know that she is not for women’s equality.  She played the Eve blame game that we are all so familiar with.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Equality for women in Southern Baptist churches, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The fight for equality has not been won yet

  1. Lydia says:

    Historically, there always has to be a group to blame for what we percieve to be our current ills. But the irony is that men had to allow women to emasuclate them…if that is really the problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

