Paige Patterson, Al Mohler, John Piper, Wayne Grudem do not speak for me

I am a Southern Baptist woman.  I like being a Baptist, and choose that over any other group of believing Christians.  But the Southern Baptist Conventi0n has decided to freeze in place.  Or more specifically, have decided that women are to freeze in place while the men are allowed to move on into this 21st century.  No restrictions have been placed on the men.  In fact, in the adoption of the Danvers Statement of Biblical Manhood and Biblical Womanhood by the Southwestern Theological Baptist Seminary, it will be made very clear that the men are selected by God to have Male Headship over the women and over the families.  This is going to have long-term results and women will suffer because of it.  They will suffer because there is no way you can give men, or women for that matter, this kind of god-like power that this statement gives them without it having serious consequences. Remember that the serpent tempted Eve by saying “…you will be like God, knowing good and evil.”  A man cannot be between his wife and God.  That makes him a god, and her a lesser being.

So, no.  I have had enough.  Paige Patterson of the SWTBS and Al Mohler, do not speak for me.  Mr. Piper and Mr. Grudem do not speak for me.  I am a Baptist woman.  And I claim my equality in our Southern Baptist churches.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Equality for women in Southern Baptist churches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paige Patterson, Al Mohler, John Piper, Wayne Grudem do not speak for me

  1. Donna says:

    Are the comments closed for this post? I just read your whole blog backwards starting last week! It’s great! I went to Tennessee Temple University in the 70’s. I thought I was an introvert. I now know I am an extrovert but I was just scared (scarred?) from years of male superiority and “headship” and patriarchy. My daughter went to Simpson College in Iowa. She told me that Christianity is steeped in patriarchism. I told her Jesus was not a Patriarch. Turns out we both were right. Thank-you for your voice. Donna

    Like

    • Welcome! I knew someone was reading all the posts because of the spike in readership and I wanted so badly for that person to contact me. I am so glad you did. My blog posts have been put into two books. The first few years (I began in 2010) is my book “Women Equal – No Buts: Powered by the same Source.” Picking up after that is “Raising the Hood: A Christian Look at Manhood and Womanhood.” They are available with all my books at amazon.com/author/taylorshirley. You probably notice a change in the writing style. I can’t explain that, it just happened as I grew more knowledgeable about the subject. I am holding a Reclaiming Equality Retreat in April for those who are interested in doing something about it. I have a workbook I developed called “Reclaiming Equality. A plan to reclaim our newbirth right.” I am so glad to hear from you! There are many of us who feel the same way and who are just now finding that we are not alone in thinking that there is a better way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

