Engaging in a Black Market of egalitarian books

LifeWay Resources won’t carry egalitarian books and neither will local Christian bookstores. But, like times of old, there is a way around and I have found it. I proudly proclaim I am engaged in black market activity when it comes to my egalitarian books.

Today I visited my local library to see if my books had sold in their Friends of the Library book sale. I had donated four brand-new Dethroning Male Headship: Second Edition and four brand-new Women Equal – No Buts: Powered by the same Source books. All eight books were sold yesterday. My sister told a similar story of my books about her library book sale last month. My books are also placed for check-out in my local library.

A black market, underground economy, or shadow economy is a market characterized by some form of noncompliant behavior with an institutional set of rules. (Such as a freeze-out by Christian bookstores and publishers.)

Not only do I put my books in local libraries, I give my books away. As the street evangelist, I give my books to ordinary people I come into contact with. Only two people have ever refused my book, one was the complementarian woman at my local Christian bookstore, and the other was the Xerox man who came to repair my copier.

This past week, I personally put four copies in the hands of local people. This is how I did it.

Report from the street evangelist. Another day at work. Got out of my car and locked it, and then unlocked it to get another copy of Dethroning Male Headship: Second Edition out of the trunk to put on my bookcase because I gave the last one to the UPS guy yesterday. There is construction of new apartments next door and the construction manager came to the door and said his men were going to clean up our Getheseme Garden because of all the mud from their site that filled it up last week. We talked a bit about the storm and I asked him how he himself had fared. He said a close relative was in the hospital and this was the 2nd time her house has been flooded and he had helped clean her house. I said, “I have a book I would like to give you” and stepped inside and picked up Outside the pastor’s door: Reflections of a church secretary, and told him “This is to remember us here when you go on to your next job.” The work foreman who I had talked with before (he attends a First Baptist Church nearby) joined us. I told him I had a book for him and went in and got Dethroning Male Headship: Second Edition (glad I had put it in my office this morning). The construction manager said his wife would read the book I gave him, but I do not ever miss an opportunity and said, “I have a book for her” and ran inside and got my last book Women Equal – No Buts: Powered by the same Source. He said they go to a Baptist church and she is in handbells and does all kinds of volunteer work for them. Said he wished she got paid for all the work she does. I smiled and thanked God for my job where I can be the street evangelist for women’s equality to so many people. Give it a try! The UPS guy was delighted to get my book. Maybe the people who stop at your door need to hear that women are equal – no buts.

Other egalitarian authors are following my lead. Read what one such Christian author wrote me:

My husband is also a street evangelist for women’s equality, and he’s been passing out my books at work. Last week, one of the men he knows told him that he and his wife had read my book. (My husband didn’t give the book to him. Someone that he gave the book to must have shared it with him.) Anyway, he said that his wife was an avid reader and she really liked the book. So, they wanted to have one of their own. My husband offered to give him one free, but his friend said that they wanted to buy it, and he did! Isn’t it so neat how God will open opportunities for us. I think that I’ll follow your example and post this on Facebook too. We need to be constantly encouraging one another! He and I are leaving tomorrow for one of his business trips, and I’m packing…….. books! (D.A. Combs, author of Incredibly Human: Community in the First Creation)

You can read my stories of the street evangelist on my website.

Please note that I never actually get into why women are equal and do not ever quote scripture to those to whom I give my books. My books say it all much better than I can on the street. I move on to the next opportunity and, like the evangelists of old, never follow up with what happens.

Its 2016. Will you engage in the egalitarian books Black Market?

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Engaging in a Black Market of egalitarian books

  1. Laura says:

    While my book is not about women in the church, I appreciate your ideas for getting the word out about a book! As both a new and self-published author, I am dependent on word of mouth and others assisting me. I had not considered offering a copy to my local library, or donating to a book sale like the libraries or literacy groups have to raise funds around here.

    Like

    • We have to think outside of the box. I spent $600 on advertising. Do you know how many of my self-published books I can buy and just give away with that $600? A bunch! Plus, I have a friend who writes a check to pay for my order of books because she wants to be involved in this ministry and that is her way. I have sent books to the library in my hometown, have driven by small libraries around where I live and stop and take a book in and donate to them. Small libraries don’t have the restrictions larger libraries have. Thanks for writing and I wish you much success with your book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

