How Quiverfull Speech Can Crash Airplanes

This past week I read what young women were saying on facebook about submitting to their husbands. Then I heard a very close family say that the husband is the head of the house. This disturbs me greatly. I am glad these young women are attending church, but I am deeply saddened that the pastors of these churches foster this dangerous teaching.

They all want megachurches, but a church can have mega people and still be egalitarian. Why couldn’t it be?

Read the blog below to see how dangerous it is in real life for those yoked together when one must submit to the other because of his rank (such as husbands’ rank over their wives.)

Taylor Joy Recovers

planecrash

The Quiverfull/Patriarchy culture produces plenty of “how-to” books, such as Fascinating Womanhood, and Created to Be His Help Meet, to show women how to be the most “godly” wives and mothers they can be. Since I practically absorbed a ton of these types of books through my skin for the first eight years of our marriage, I noticed one thing they all had in common: they tell us how how to talk to our husbands with “respect,” “honor,” and “deference to his authority.” We learned how to use encouragement, childlike phrases, praise, focusing on the positives, and carefully worded requests to communicate within our marriages.

For example, in the book Fascinating Womanhood , a man is about to make a disastrous financial decision, where he could lose everything. The author encourages the wife to say, “It sounds like a good idea, and I can see why you’re excited…

View original post 1,175 more words

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Quiverfull Speech Can Crash Airplanes

  1. Thank you so much for re-blogging this! I haven’t updated that site in about two years, but I started a parody twitter account at @XianJaneway. This article was my introduction to the “Spiritual Abuse Blogging Community” and I didn’t even know it existed until I accidentally joined it. 😛 Thank you also for having a site dedicated to Baptist Women for Equality. ❤ I'm thankful to be a part of an Egalitarian Baptist church, and God bless you for all that you do. 😀

    Like

    • Taylor, I didn’t even look at the date it was posted. It just touched me. I rarely reblog anybody’s work but for some reason I felt compelled to do so. I blog of course for women’s equality. I also write and have written 2 books “Dethroning Male Headship: Second Edition” and “Women Equal – No Buts: Powered by the same Source” which is my blogs from 2010 through 2014. I also call myself the “street evangelist for women’s equality” and you can read my stories at http://www.bwebaptist.com. I work every day for women’s equality. I am a member of Christians for Bliblical Equality, Texas Baptists Committed, and Equity for Women in the Church (which was borne out of Baptists Alliance and is now ecumenical). God bless and thanks for writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

