How Christianity Today can turn debacle into something good

“We are horrified,” Mark Gallia, editor-in-chief of Christianity Today wrote to me in response to my email, “I am sorry this happened.” I accept his apology and know that he is horrified at the ad that appeared in the March CT section Marketplace, under Employment Opportunities.

soninlaw

She is a real person and had no idea her father had placed this in “the magazine that Billy Graham founded” which were her words in her explanation on her blog. He not only placed the ad (or somebody did) but he gave her blog address. I have blacked out her blog address and the Apply at email address.

This ad did not fall from the sky into that space. It is just one page and Son-In-Law was the first thing I saw as I flipped through the magazine. The Marketplace editor should have seen it, too. Perhaps someone saw this as a joke and the person, or persons, responsible did not see anything wrong with it. I do not believe this failure is applicable to all those at CT, but it is applicable to someone there.

It is no joke when a daughter – in this case a 26 year old woman – is offered for sale by a father. For one thing, he is selling something he doesn’t own. Many apologies are owed. The father, the sales person who took the ad, and the editors owe this young woman an apology. They also owe every woman an apology. According to Mark Galli, they have taken steps at Christianity Today to ensure this does not happen again.

I accepted Mark Gallia’s apology to me and I wrote back,

“Mark, there is a way to come out of this debacle with grace and dignity. You can turn this patriarchal employment advertisement into something good.

In contrast, you can feature in Christianity Today (CT) those women who are working for Christian egalitarianism in the church and home. Our story has not been told. There are many of us who are fighting this battle against male headship. I, myself, stood up in a movie theater in December 2015 at a showing of Suffragettes, and said to those sitting there “Women are still not equal in most churches on Sunday mornings.” Hear our voices.

Help us turn the tide on patriarchal and male headship teaching. Turn something really bad into something really good.”

I hope their inbox is full and their phones are ringing off the wall from pastors, women, and all others who saw this or heard about it. But I doubt that. I expect there were more than a few snickers by those who should know better.

It is 2016. Will you contact Christianity Today and tell them how they can turn something really bad into something really good?

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Christianity Today can turn debacle into something good

  1. pnissila says:

    Hi, Shirley,

    I’ve been looking without success for an online link to this “editor” in order to write a response. He needs to hear from many women (and, I hope, l some courageous men who dare step outside of the patriarchal box). Could you possibly insert a link or email address?

    There are no words to express my horror at this advertisement to sell a human being.

    How utterly, absolutely disrespectful and humiliating for the daughter and for all women.

    And I bet her “seller,” her own father, would decry human trafficking without seeing any kind of parallel.

    Of course Mr. Patriarch likely has absolutely no clue.

    I am sure he has been brainwashed by the patriarchalists to believe that marketing his own flesh and blood in a cheap magazine ad is completely acceptable behavior.

    And if it was a joke, he needs to understand that there is a whole cult of men that would take this seriously, who actually believe they are entitled to, so to speak, buy and sell daughters in this manner (virgins being the pick of the litter?).

    Worse, there is a whole cult of men who might “shop” for his daughter in cheap magazine ads like this.

    May God help and protect her and all the other young women at risk because of this cult.

    I am glad at least the “editor” apologized. However, for him or his surrogates to have approved the ad to begin with tells me a lot about the underlying influences on the staff. Not good. Not biblical. Jesus came to set captives free, not market them.

    Like

  2. Andyb says:

    I bid 4 sheep and will throw in a bolt of fine silk if she can cook.

    Does she have all of her teeth and wide, birthing hips?

    I’m aware that piracy and slavery are still very real problems in the 21st century, but I had no idea that cavemen still roamed the North American plains until a friend alerted me to this post.

    Thank you for enlightening this oblivious American male.

    Like

    • Welcome! I am so glad you joined in. Patriarchal (male headship) is alive and well all across America and in every country Southern Baptists and other evangelical denominations send missionaries. There are many good places to learn more about this. My own two books, of course. “Dethroning Male Headship: Second Edition” and “Women Equal – No Buts: Powered by the same Source.” Christians for Biblical Equality (I am a member) have excellent free articles and resources. Again, thanks a bunch for chiming in!

      Like

  3. Olivia says:

    I’m a little alarmed at the inclusion of her status as a virgin. But, then, given the context of the rest of the ad, I’m not sure why I should be. Saddening and maddening.

    Like

    • It was awful that anybody would compose such a thing even in jest, which I am sure that it was. But it went out in a national magazine with her blog address and an email address. That was truly awful and mean against her. Apparently it was her father, according to her website. It is saddening and maddening.

      Like

Leave a Reply

