One woman’s story

Does God mislead women when he allows a heartfelt desire to preach come into their heart?

One of my most widely read posts is “Why doesn’t God want women to preach?” ┬áThis morning, I received the following comment from a reader that I am sharing with you.

I’m all for an out and out strike. Let the holy men tend to the children and do kitchen duty at the fellowship meals.

Eeeessssh. The way some of the male commenters on this post talk, it makes me feel like it’s a sin for a lowly, inferior woman to darken the doors of a church!

I don’t feel called to be a pastor or a preacher. I just want to be a real member of my church and not an almost-but-not-quite-member. I’d love to be able to participate in business meetings. I’d love to be able to participate in discussions in our Sunday school class. I’d love to be able to teach Sunday school and VBS classes to teenagers (I used to be a math teacher, grades 7-12, and i have taken 2 classes through an SBC affilated Bible college). But I’m not allowed to do any of that because I’m a woman.

It irks me to no end that a 9-yer-old boy can preach from the pulpit, but a 50-year-old-woman can’t even make a comment in the adult Sunday school class! What good does it do for me to read the Bible when I can not use anything I have learned? Women are outcasts. We are treated like stepchildren of God instead of true children of God.

It is time to speak up to your pastors and to your denomination. But, they will probably not listen. I encourage you to use my free Bible Study for Gender Equality – Reclaiming our equality. A 5-week plan to reclaim our newbirth right. It is available at my other website Equality Junction. Enlist a church member or a facebook friend to work through this with you. Also on this site you will find many egalitarian books to help you understand why women can preach!

 

 

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One woman’s story

  1. krwordgazer says:

    I am frankly beginning to lose my patience with this sort of thing. How could they possibly think it’s God’s will to harm and damage His daughters like this?

    Like

    • Mara says:

      They don’t see it as harm. They see it as order. Since they don’t have to be subject to it, they don’t have to try to understand or be empathetic. They can stand in judgment and grumble about uppity women who don’t know their places.
      They are Pharisees who tie up heavy burdens on women and won’t lift a finger to help.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

