The head of the house is home

“As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord” brings up a mental picture of a man declaring that upon his word, his whole household will be in obedience to God. I imagine most of you have thought the same thing.

But that may not be the real picture. It was brought home to me last week in a comment from Phyllis who blogs at www.pnissila.wordpress.com that it might not be the husband who declares “For me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

Her comment was too good to be lost underneath my blog post.

This is what she said:

“In response to your comment about the need for a woman to lead where there is no husband around, so true. I will go one further.

I became a Christian many years before my husband came to Christ in a serious way. One day before his decision (and he was not very happy with my newfound spiritual interests) I was pondering the scripture, “as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” For some odd reason I thought that declaration was somehow up to the “man of the house,” read, “the head of the house.” Silly me.

For an instant, I felt really bad for my family, frustrated. Then, as we gently perceive the “voice” of the Holy Spirit, I “heard,” “But YOU are the spiritual head of the house.”

As the joy of the Lord filled me, (and as nobody else was home), I declared out loud and loudly, several times, “as for me and MY HOUSE, we will serve the Lord!”

When we deny full voice to the Body of Christ, so to speak, by insisting that one half of the Body of Christ can’t “speak” or do the Lord’s work for some silly reason or other, or because we want control over that half so they will do what we tell them to do, we do GREAT disservice to not only our households, but to the world at large. We truncate the work of the Holy Spirit. And I wouldn’t want to be in the shoes of those who do that, on judgement day.”

Many women get up on Sunday morning and get the kids ready to go to church while their husbands stay home.  They, too, have declared “For me and my house, we will serve the Lord!”

Praise the Lord for all of you who have decided to be in the Lord’s house – and to be head of your house.  Read again 1 Peter 3:1 “Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives.”  You get up on Sunday morning and take the kids to church.  May you win over your husbands to the Lord.

A great big thank you to Phyllis for allowing me to post her comment so you all can see.  How biblical!  She is the head of her household, just as the women in 1 Peter 3:1.

Will you join with me in declaring that the head of the household can be the wife! Will you work with me for equality for all women so that that, too, will be able to say “For me and our household, we will serve the Lord.”

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The head of the house is home

  1. pnissila says:

    Thank you for posting this, Shirley. I hope others are encouraged. And when I remember that incident, I am also reminded of 2 Corinthians 10:5, the mandate to take all thoughts “obedient to Christ,” i.e., to make our thoughts and words reflect the Word (of God) Made Flesh. I see it as a vital invitation as well when so many other “voices,” not in alignment, clamor for minds, attention–and control. “Where the spirit of the Lord is there is liberty” (2 Cor. 3:17).
    Phyllis

    Like

  2. tommy9999 says:

    I thank God for the Godly women he has placed among us.. They need to be set free to use their God given talents.

    Like

  3. Greg Hahn says:

    Great post, Shirley. And yes, I will stand in agreement with you on this. The head of the house ought to be the one most capable in whatever area- spiritual, domestic, moral, financial. God has gifted us all in different areas, and the leadership ought to go to the ones gifted to lead well.

    Like

    • Thank you, Greg. It is time to take the ball across the line. We’ve said all we need to say about women’s equality and now it is time to take it home. Someone asked me “how does that look?” In other words, what am I going to do? I don’t know yet. But the debate is over – or should be. Let’s get this ball over the line! Thank you for your help. Suggestions are welcome.

      > Date: Thu, 7 Mar 2013 03:18:48 +0000 > To: bwebaptist.women@live.com >

      Like

  4. When I talk to many women who claim to be Christians, I am surprised that many of them do not want to take responsibility for their families and think that they can escape this responsibility by playing the “submissive” role. That way if things do not work out, it was “his” fault. I find this behavior absolutely atrocious! First, who is the man’s helper? Obviously not one running from responsibility, but one who will share the burden. Second, God still holds us responsible for the good we do and should do. “If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them,” James 4:17. It is quite cowardice. “But the cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars–they will be consigned to the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death.” Revelation 21:8. I am not saying they are going to hell, but I am saying that they (wives, mothers) are responsible for their actions or lack of it. I am glad to see someone (who is such a wife and mother) is not running from responsibility.

    Like

Leave a Reply

