I’m not his daughter

Oh my, the things you learn at the hair salon! I suppose it is the same way at men’s barber shops, or at least it used to be when only men went there to get their hair cut.

I was telling my hair stylist about my book, Dethroning Male Headship.  (I read in Marketing 101 that after you have said something 1,000 times and are getting sick of it, that people are just beginning to hear what you have said).

She is Hispanic, but I wasn’t sure which country she had come from.

Listen to her story: “Lots of women from Mexico come in here and I hear them talking about what their husbands won’t let them do. Mexican men are very macho, you know.”

I asked her where she was from.  “Ecuador,” she said, “and the men there think they are macho, and my husband did, too. But that changed.  In 1987, I told him that I was not his daughter.  That I was his wife.”

Then she said, “I got a credit card in my name, and I started acting like I was equal in my marriage.”

She said she would buy my book.  She is already convinced and living as an equal partner in marriage, but her sister is not.

Will you help me get the word out that we are not our husband’s daughter, but we are his wife.  And will you help me tell others that a book is coming out May 1, 2013 that explains it all!  And maybe by the time we have said it 1,000 times people will begin to remember that women are equal – in the marriage and in the church.

 

 

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

