The missing verses in Daniel

Fear comes in many forms. A friend wrote me a beautiful note last night, calling me a Daniel. She had just been speaking with the publisher of my book “Dethroning Male Headship.” They know this book will be controversial in Christian circles, but it is a book they stand behind also. Now this is not the first time Cindy Kunsman has referred to me as a strong woman – having called me a woman of valor at one time.

But this time she called me a Daniel.

“So the king gave orders for Daniel to be taken and thrown into the pit fillied with lions. “Daniel 6:16. “God sent his angel to shut the mouths of the lions so that they would not hurt me. He did this because he knew that I was innocent and because I have not wronged you, your majesty.” Daniel 6:22.

In between verses 16 and 22, we don’t know what happened. Personally, I think Daniel was scared to death. I think he prayed harder than he had ever prayed before. I think those lions came awfully close to taking his head off.

But he came out victorious. There is a saying “Don’t let them see you sweat.” I will try to keep that in mind.

Please pray for me as my book nears publication. I have seen the book cover and I absolutely love it!

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The missing verses in Daniel

  1. Jerry Kanetzky says:

    You will most likely never know what you have done for me, and what you mean to our family of five good men and four good women. There are millions just like us. From the bottom of my my heart, I pray God’s richest blessings on you and those whom you love.

    Like

    • Connie, thank you so much. It is people like you that affirm my calling for women’s ministry. We are all in this together working for God’s will to be done on earth. We forget sometimes that it is through people that God works. Right now we are battling an age old bias against God’s creation (woman). It is time that men realize that just because God has allowed this bias to continue, he is also working in people’s hearts – both men and women – that it is wrong.

      I thank you for the prayers for my family. My husband is a big part of my ministry as a sounding board, and wisdom, and commitment to what we are trying to accomplish.

      Like

  2. tommy9999 says:

    Shirley:

    You are a very brave lady! May God bless you!!

    Like

  3. greghahn4 says:

    I’m praying for you Shirley.

    Like

  4. Barney says:

    Yes I will pray for you, that you may be on the right side of Matt. 7:21-23

    Barney

    Like

    • Hi Barney! You got the 23 right, but it is Matthew 23:15 that you should take heed to: “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You travel over land and sea to win a single convert, and when he becomes one, you make him twice as much a son of hell as you are.”

      > Date: Fri, 8 Feb 2013 19:37:01 +0000 > To: bwebaptist.women@live.com >

      Like

    • Mara says:

      Barney,
      Shirley IS on the right side of Matt 7:21-23 because she is on the right side of Luke 22:25-27, and Luke 6:31, and Matt 22:36-40.
      You, however, are very much on the wrong side of these verses because you push gentile and gender hierarchy, you DON’T love your female neighbors as yourself, and you DON’T do unto female ‘others’ as you would have them do unto you.
      Instead, you let a false understanding of a few Pauline verses blind you and cause you to disobey the words of Jesus Christ in the verses I mention above.
      So I will pray that YOU get on the right side of the words of Jesus and break free of the bondage that the gentile traditions of men have placed you under so that you will stop oppressing your sisters who are fellow heirs in Christ.

      Like

    • tommy9999 says:

      Barney:

      Did that make you feel better to say what you did to Shirley? But how kind of you to be willing to pray for a woman in such a way–please do not hurt yourself.

      Like

    • I’m praying that you Barney may be on the right side as well.

      Like

  5. Mabel says:

    Barney: Proverbs 20:23 The Lord detests differing weights,
    and dishonest scales do not please him.
    Using different weights to judge people purely based on the flesh is detestable to the Lord.

    Like

  6. kbonikowsky says:

    Chazak Amatz! Be strong and courageous.

    Like

  7. undermuchgrace says:

    Like

  8. undermuchgrace says:

    Barney,

    I’ve even heard RC Sproul teach and transparently say in many a sermon and lecture that, though he has strong faith in the assurances that he belongs to God, there is the humility in him that says, “May I be found faithful,” because those who will be turned away from the Lord also have faith that they are “safe” and are basically guaranteed their spot in heaven. We all must recognize that God is God, we are not, and that we must be careful when we stand, lest we fall.

    So in the sense that your prayer for Shirley is that she will hear, “Well done, my good, faithful servant,” we can certainly pray nothing better for one another. In the context of drawing encouragement from the idea that the God who stopped the mouth of the lions also stands with every Believer, however, it is sad that you subtly question instead of encourage. But perhaps I’m missing something in your intended meaning.

    I found myself meditating on Colossians 3:16 yesterday:
    “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.”

    Where we all end up is a personal thing that only God really knows for sure, but in the meanwhile, we aren’t called to throw doubts or disparagement at others, even if we don’t share where they’re coming from. As Believers, we should admonish and encourage one another in wisdom with gratitude to God. I think that we can all take for granted that we all seek to hear, “You, enter into the joy of the Lord!” when we face *Jesus* on that great day to come. Those of us who do pray for that for ourselves usually pray for it to be true for all people who follow Jesus, though we are cautioned that this is not something to take for granted. I find it sad when we don’t automatically assume this about one another as those who follow Christ.

    Whether we agree on doctrine or gender, as Believers, I hope that God works us together as He brings us together into greater knowledge of the truth. May we always encourage one another with all wisdom and with gratitude. That is my prayer today.

    Like

  9. Hi Shirley! This is your great invention. How many books you have written. Can I get some links of your books.

    Like

    • Hi Richard! Glad you joined us!

      This is my first book. I am a reluctant writer and had no intention of writing a book, but I did write a series of blogs called Dethroning Male Headship which I printed into a little booklet. I have learned a whole lot more about the bible as it relates to egalitarian belief, and in particular I have learned a whole lot more about the ridiculous teaching of complemenatarianism. So my booklet has grown up and is now being published. It will be available for sale on May 1, 2013, but advance ordering will begin before that.

      I wasn’t quite sure what you meant by “this is your great invention” but choose to believe that you meant it as a complement. Thank you. I appreciate that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

