Divorce, not submit, is the subject

True Woman is gearing up to hold their submissive woman conference in a few weeks.  I wonder what they will do with the Bible at this conference. 

When I was a kid years ago and revivals were held two weeks each summer in every little church around, I attended lots of revival meetings.  They were mostly hell-fire and damnation.  Since there were no amplifying machines, the preacher had to yell to make himself heard across the room.  Particularly if there were a bunch of teenagers giggling about something.  My father was sometimes one of those preachers in a little Baptist church.

I will never forget one certain preacher.  He held a Bible in his hand, and he started tearing out pages of the Bible and threw them on the floor.  Never in my life had I seen anybody tear out pages of the Bible.  I expected lightning to strike at any moment.  But there he was, telling people if they didn’t believe this scripture, or that scripture, they may as well tear it out of the Bible.

Come to the present.  Imagine you are at a True Woman Conference.  Mary Kassain is holding a Bible in her hand.  Which scripture is she going to tell you that you have to believe and if you don’t, then you might as well tear it out and throw it on the floor?

1 Peter 3:1 “Wives, you must submit to your husbands!” Rip, out it goes.

As it drifts to the floor, can you see the whole text that she just threw away?

To paraphrase:

“Pastor, my husband is not a Christian. I’ve prayed and prayed about this.  I know the Lord is dwelling within me, I know that I have accepted Jesus Christ.  I have to be a Christian. But my husband is not. He doesn’t want me to talk about it, he won’t listen.  He lets me come to the meetings, but he won’t come.  What can I do?”

“Dear Sister in Christ, continue in your marriage as you have always done. Continue to be a good wife.  Now that you are a Christian, and he is not, don’t set about divorcing your husband. Who knows? Maybe by the example you set for him, he will be saved.”

Submit to your husband fell to the floor, but the real meaning of that scripture has been lost in the clutter by people like Mary Kassain. It is actually a strong comforting message to women who are living with husbands who are not Christians.  Don’t throw these husbands away and divorce them. (You can read the same thing in 1 Corinthians 7:13).

Many women live with husbands who are not Christians.  They needed it then and they need it now to know how to continue to live with a man they are married to, and a man they love, but a man who is not a Christian.

To condense this scripture down to “Wives, submit” is to distort the message.

Will you join me in getting out the real message to women?

 

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Divorce, not submit, is the subject

  1. Temperance says:

    Yes my pastor did the same illustration tearing out bible pages. When I was a young Christian it instilled fear in me that I’d better do everything the pastor says or else it means I’m picking and choosing what parts of the bible to believe. It sets the stage for some major manipulation.

    Like

  2. TL says:

    and there is so much manipulation and distortion of Scripture when we read it piece meal like that. 😦

    Like

  3. Kristen says:

    Yes– they are the ones picking and choosing. “Believe our proof texts! What the rest of the Bible says doesn’t matter!”

    Like

  4. tommy9999 says:

    That this woman can stand in front of other women and lie to them about what the Bible says about women is beyond the pale.

    Like

Leave a Reply

