My new-birth right

Note to readers: I would love to hear from you!  Please contact me via my blog after you read this post. (Shirley)

Editing my book is a major job and I am busy working on it.  Following is a post often requested.  It was posted a year ago.

Ariel Sharon lay in a coma in a room nearby where Don and I stood at the Hadassah Ein Keremin Hospital in Jerusalem. We were standing at the same spot that Shepherd Smith of Fox News had stood just a few days before while he sent back a news report of the Prime Minister’s condition.  But we were not there to see Ariel Sharon.  We were there to see the synagogue where the famous artist Marc Chagall had created the 12 stained glass windows of the 12 Tribes of Israel.     

As we prepared to enter the synagogue, Don was told to put on a small hat so his head would be covered before he entered the synagogue.  He picked up a handmade hat made of black construction paper and stapled together which gave compliance to the head covering rule.  A young man of 14 or so entered the synagogue briefly and before he stepped in, his arm went up and his hand spread out over his head so his head would be covered.

Don sat on one side of the synagogue while I sat on the other side. Our group consisted of Don and another man and me.

One day we went to see the tomb of King David.  It was in a small room, separated down the middle by a curtain.  Don entered on one side and I entered from the other.  There was a woman under the table covering lying prostrate on the floor praying. I could see her feet moving under the table covering.

The Wailing Wall is a place of prayer and most tourists want to go to the wall when they are in Jerusalem.  There is a courtyard where people mill around and down at the end is the Wall.  We could see many men lined up against the wall praying, rocking back and forth as they often do. Many had black clothes and black hats.  There was a section screened off and I was told that it was the women’s section and that I had to go over there to a separate entrance.  It was on a slight decline and I could see chairs up against the screen barricade.  Those chairs were placed there so the women could climb up on them to see.

“No!”

Thus began my protest.  I stood in the courtyard  – proud. And alone.  I was a Christian woman and this is the 21st century and I will not be treated as if I were a Jewish woman.  I have been saved by grace and given the freedom through Christ that He gave all his children, male and female.

Wailing Wall

Will you join me in standing – alone if necessary – in protest against the separation of men and women.  Stand with me against the assigned roles that men want to give women, against the separate entrances where women are allowed to go only so far, and not have the full relationship with God that many men feel is their ‘birthright?’

 

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My new-birth right

  1. tommy9999 says:

    Shirley:

    I will stand alone with you regardless of the consequences. I am sick and tired of this treatment of women as second-class citizens especially by the Southern Baptist Convention.

    Like

  2. krwordgazer says:

    I recently re-read the instructions in the O.T. for the building of the tabernacle, and then later, Solomon’s Temple. God gave absolutely no instructions for the creation of a separate Court of the Women or even a Court of the Gentiles. All the Israelites, including women and foreigners, were allowed into the Place of Meeting– only one Place of Meeting for all.

    It was Herod’s Temple that added the Court of the Women and the Court of the Gentiles– reflecting a departure from God’s original instructions for corporate worship. But orthodox Jews still follow this practice.

    Last month I went to my cousin’s bar mitzvah in California. The synagogue was Conservative (middle ground between Orthodox and Liberal). It had a female rabbi leading the service, and men and women’s seating was integrated. There is nothing whatsoever in the Torah that calls for such a separation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

