I am ready for a manly church

Seven billion people in the world and little men are bickering over whether or not women can proclaim the gospel to them, or serve them a cup of grape juice and a piece of bread to remember Christ.

Seven billion people needing to hear the word, and little men are bickering over exactly what the apostle Paul meant in the first century.

I’m ready for a manly church.  Never thought I would say those words, but here it is in black and white.  I am ready for a manly church.

I am ready for a church where men do not feel their manhood is threatened when women want to be able to serve the Lord’s Supper.

I am ready for a church where men do not feel threatened when women feel God’s calling to be a pastor of a church.

I am ready for a church where men can stand alongside women and let the women lead out in reading scripture, preaching, or serving the Lord’s Supper.

I am ready for a church where men don’t complain that there are too many women in their church.

I am ready for a church where men do not withhold certain positions from women because “the bible says women can’t have authority over a man.”

I am ready for a church where men do not insult women.

I am ready for a church where men are encouraged to serve alongside women.

I am ready for a church where men are not told that they are the spiritual leaders of women.

I am ready for a church where men are not told that their wives must submit to them.

I am ready for a manly church where the pastor respects both men and women as equals and does not try to keep the women in submission.

I am ready for a church where men stand up and act like men instead of some little god-like imitation who seeks to keep women in their place.

I am ready for a manly church.

If you are like me and are ready for a manly church, speak up and tell the men that you are fed up with this crap.  They can get away from their whiney pulpits and blogs, and man up, and let the women serve God as they are called.  Their manhood is not threatened.  They will not be emasculated.  They will not become effeminate.  They will be men. 

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I am ready for a manly church

  1. Anne says:

    Absolutely. The world’s idea of a manly man is one where he is a big boss, beating his chest and holding power over others. Jesus’ idea of a manly man is where he allows everyone to have the same treatment and same rights as him.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Amen! The men in hierarchical complementarianism seem relatively weak to me. I believe it is because of the lack of experience of living with and being challenged by a true equal. The only time they are with (solely) others of their caliber is in all-male environments.

    Like

    • The churches are failing in teaching what it is to be a real man. Have you looked on the websites of churches at what their staff does? They list hunting and fishing. Now, how many do you think really go out and hunt? Or even fish?

      Like

      • Anne says:

        Thus we revisit the point that such gender roles are a burden for men too. Being expected to behave in a certain way, against your own likes and dislikes, is unpleasant and stressful. And against the freedom Jesus intended. I heard a phrase once that went: ‘A real man is a man who is real.’

        Fellas should just be themselves, no?

        Like

      • They have pitted men against women, when it should not be that way.

        Like

  3. Mara says:

    Exactly.
    And I’m going to say yea and amen by linking an old blog post of mine.
    We need a faith that helps men to rise up and be actual men rather than a “Jock Strap Religion” that protects men from facing their own insecurities and keeps them from manning up and wrestling with their internal demons. Jock strap religion deflects men from dealing with their own issues and gives them women as their scapegoats for their own faults. Thus Complementarianism (Jock Strap Religion) makes it so men don’t ever have to mature and be actual men, but rather cry babies always blaming someone else.
    http://frombitterwaterstosweet.blogspot.com/2011/05/jock-strap-religion.html

    Like

  4. Mabel says:

    This got to be one of my favorite Shirley posts. I think men who constantly harp about how manly men should be may have deep rooted insecurity. They are also talking out of both sides of their mouths: you are equal to me, but only I can open my mouth to read Scriptures, including passages of Scriptures recording what women said. I also love Wiley’s parable he put out today
    .http://clarksons.org/blog/?p=278

    Like

  5. Kristen says:

    Yes– well put. A manly church– or in other words, a church with grownups in it. Who also happen to be male.

    Like

  6. gotgnosis says:

    Reblogged this on Gotgnosis's Blog and commented:
    Amen! We are One in Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

