MLK and me

When Martin Luther King died, I was like many people in the south and really did not like him because of the disturbance of the civil rights movement.  Things were just fine the way they were.  Now that I have matured and understand the situation better, I have much admiration and respect for this man who stood up and declared “I am a man.”

The sad thing is that he had to do it.  No man and no woman should have to declare their place in humanity.  We were created in the image of God.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MLK and me

  1. Michelle says:

    Gutsy of you to post this. I appreciate your honesty (as usual). We are all in this process of growth, together…

    Interesting that you mention that you did not like the way Dr. King caused (or was part of what was causing) a “disturbance”. Oy, that is the charge brought against us for claiming Jesus’ death on the cross and resurrection enough for women in this lifetime: enough for women to claim equality *now*, and not only in heaven.

    Like

    • I think that is the reason women will not speak up today. They do not want to cause a disturbance, and the pastor preaches peace inside the church. If you read the Resolution for Women, you will see that the very first one says “I do solemnly resolve before God to embrace my current season of life and live with a spirit of contentment.” No matter what the current season of her life is, she is to live in contentment. In other words, don’t make Martin Luther King waves!

      Like

  2. Thanks Shirley. Thanks for your self-revealing honesty. It’s a window into how we resist change but then appreciate it in hindsight.

    Like

  3. Mabel says:

    I really, totally, completely, identify with MLK’s quote. It happens to me at my church.

    Like

Leave a Reply

