Marriage made in heaven?

These past three years I have heard more about a husband’s role and a wife’s role in a marriage than I could ever have imagined.  When I began the ministry of women’s equality, all I knew was that in my church a woman could not be a deacon.  I knew that it was wrong and I was determined to speak out about it. My eyes have been opened!  I know now that complementarians think that a husband is the only one with a leadership role in the marriage and that the wife’s role is clean the house and raise his kids.

Fifty years ago when Don and I got married – yes, we are celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary tomorrow – I never heard of such nonsense.  My father helped my mother cook, can foods for the winter, and do the laundry.  My mother helped him in the fields, picked cotton, and raised 8 kids. They both worked hard feeding and caring for their family. I thought all families were like that. 

My husband didn’t know how to cook!  He still doesn’t. During the next 50 years I learned that it is not the division of household chores that make a marriage.

After I started working for Baptist General Convention of Texas, Don convinced me that women were not being treated fairly in the Baptist church and he has been my most vocal supporter in this ministry.  He is helping me with the conference April 27-28, 2012. (Read more about it by clicking on the top menu).

Today I am not going to complain.  I am just going to enjoy my husband, our marriage, and our two sons.  Come back Friday and I will tell you about a 29 year old mega church pastor who has a lot to learn about women and God.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Marriage made in heaven?

  1. jayseidlerjay says:

    Congratulations on your 50 years of marriage and your blessing of getting a husband that as you said “convinced me that women were not being treated fairly in the Baptist church and he has been my most vocal supporter in this ministry.”

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your 50 years! Looking forward to hearing more. Don must have realized you had alot to say! Good for him!

    Pssssssssst! Is the page snowing?

    Like

  3. kbonikowsky says:

    wow! congrats. I hope you can celebrate with all those who love you.

    Like

  4. Esther Liu says:

    What a beautiful couple….what a beautiful marriage!………in more ways than one.

    May the Lord continue to bless you both! Please send my love and appreciation to you hubby of 50 years. I love men who love and support women with God’s love!!!

    Like

  5. Kristen says:

    Happy Anniversary! And thanks for this blog and all your interesting posts!

    Like

  6. Mabel says:

    Hi Esther, Don reminds me of your husband, even tho’ I never met him. You 2 are half way there! 加油 ( Chinese expression: Add Oil, i.e. work hard )

    Like

  7. Marg says:

    What a lovely photo. Thanks for sharing it. And CONGRATULATIONS!

    My experience has been that young people are looking for older, wiser role models. They can tell whether a person is mature – wise and experienced, or just plain old – out of date and out of touch. Shirley, I have no doubt that you fall in to the first category.

    PS I have two sons too.

    Like

  8. Joyce says:

    This is a beautiful picture of a beautiful couple. Lovely! My heartfelt congratulations to you both on your 50th. My husband and I will celebrate our 50th next year. Where oh where did the time go?

    Like

    • Thank you. I don’t know where the years went. I picture our life together as a book, each day is a page. Some days are boring, some exciting, some filled with joy and others with anguish, with every page helping tell the story. Let me congratulate you on your 49 years!

      Like

  9. Estelle says:

    Congratulations, Shirley, and happy celebrations on this wonderful occasion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

