Mistake or Cold Heart

It was three years ago in September right after Hurricane Ike that I realized that the church had a cold heart and that cold heart was called the church by-laws. It is the by-laws of the church that tells a woman that she can’t be a deacon and that her church sees her in a completely different light than it sees the men of the church.

It is the by-laws that many Southern Baptist pastors hide behind.

In these past three years of this journey in speaking for equality, I have made a bunch of mistakes.  Some I still shudder at.  Some were borne out of ignorance, and others because I oftentimes speak before I think.

Some of the mistakes that I have made were made because the desire for women’s equality is a fire that burns so hotly in my heart that I have taken risks that I should not have taken, and said things that I should not have said.

This was brought to mind by Tom Parker in his comment yesterday.

He said, “ I believe there will come a day when all these men in the SBC will have to apologize for their misuse of the Holy Scriptures to make women a second-class citizen when Jesus did the exact opposite.”

One day they will admit what they already know. One day they will see the damage it has done to women for their refusal to accept the equality of women. One day they will realize that that they have perpetuated a sin against the body of Christ, against all their church members, not just the women.

If they should apologize, then why shouldn’t I?

The mistakes I have made have never been to deliberately hurt someone. But I have tried to bring reformation to a system, and that requires calling attention to the injustice.

I believe that pastors have made a decision to not speak up for women’s equality. I believe that they know that the decision they have made does not reflect the heart of Christ.  The mistakes I have made do not denigrate over one-half of the entire world population, with no intention of rectifying the situation. 

Yet they persist. Because once they have started down that path, to stop and make a u-turn would be too embarrassing and not good for their careers.

Yes, they owe women an apology.  They own Christ an apology.

When I lay down my head at night, I know that I have spoken up for women.  When they lay down their head at night, they know that they have not.

If you want a good night’s sleep, join me and other men and women as we speak out in the ways that we know how, for an end to the injustice against women in their church, and by their pastors.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mistake or Cold Heart

  1. Mara says:

    You know, it’s not just that they need to apologize to Christian women for the oppression.
    They also need to apologize for misrepresenting God to the world, making God look like male chauvanist pig when He is nothing at all like that.

    Like

    • Michelle says:

      Amen! Yes! This! I’m sick of and over the misrepresentation of the character of God, like this. To gift people without regard to sex, and then restrict the ways in which the gifts may be used…what kind of God do other people think we worship?

      Like

  2. Mabel says:

    Mistake or cold heart? Both.

    Like

  3. Kristen says:

    “I believe that they know that the decision they have made does not reflect the heart of Christ. ”

    I don’t believe many of them really know this. They think they’re honoring the Scriptures. They know Christ also honored the Scriptures– so they’re trying to follow what they think He wants.

    But what they forget is that Christ did not accept all of the then-traditional ways of understanding the law and the prophets– He pointed out ways in which the Scriptures had been misinterpreted and misapplied. And almost all of those misinterpretations and misapplications had something to do with failing in love. The interpretations and applications of the restrictionist pastors, fail in love towards women. I believe that Christ, if He gave a new Sermon on the Mount today, would say to them, “You have heard it said, women be silent– BUT I SAY . . . “

    Like

  4. mabel says:

    Amen, Kristen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

