Now I’m quoting John Piper!

In the last post I lamented how pastors were quoting John Piper in their sermons, and collecting warm and fuzzy John Piperisms.  Now I find myself quoting Dr. Piper.

In his book Don’t Waste Your Life, Piper tells the story of people who have looked forward to retirement and couldn’t wait to begin this phase of their life.  You can read the book. I haven’t read it, but from what I’ve read and heard in a sermon was that the story goes something like this:

A couple couldn’t wait for retirement at which time they would get in their motor home and travel. They would go to the Florida seashore.  While there, they loved going to the beach to pick up seashells.  When their days of picking up seashells was over, they entered the gates of heaven, and first went to the “this is your life” table and laid down all the seashells they had gathered.

Piper says that theirs was a wasted life, since all they had to show God in the later years of their life was a bunch of seashells.

I agree with John Piper. 

God did not have seashells planned for my retirement years.

God called me to this ministry of speaking out for women’s equality at a time in my life that I should be retired, and not worried about you or anybody else in the church.  My time for picking up seashells had arrived along with my Social Security check. 

There are a lot of people like me who have reached this age and are tired of the fighting, the speaking out, and they just want to go to church and sit in a pew and worship and not rock the boat (boatrocker – thanks, Paula).

So in this case, I agree with Piper. I don’t want to stand before the Lord with a bunch of calcified seashells that once held a living body, in my hands.  I want to present your daughters, your sisters, your women friends, and your wife, and tell our Lord that I did what I could to speak up for equality for them.

Mabel and I are working on a team to bring a one-day conference to Houston, Texas, in the spring of 2012 where we will be speaking up for Christian women’s equality.  This conference is being sponsored by Christians for Biblical Equality (CBE) and Fuller Institute, Texas.  Will you pray for us, and lift us up to the Lord as we seek to do His will?

 Jocelyn Andersen has written an excellent article regarding the question asked of Michele Bachmann at the GOP debates.  Please read this. I am in agreement with Jocelyn in this. At the bottom of the information regarding Jocelyn Andersen in this article, it says that she is a co-founder of Freedom for Christian Women Coalition.  I am the the other co-founder.

.

.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now I’m quoting John Piper!

  1. Mabel says:

    Thank you Shirley for what you are doing for biblical equality for all sisters.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I don’t see how Piper is reconciling the parable of the slaves who were each given a different number of talents to manage while their master was away with not permitting women to use the gifts God has given them. (Which this story of seashells reminds me of, if mainly for the reason that it is this week’s study 😉 .) It seems to me that both stories are about not wasting what we have been given, for God expects us to use it in the service of God’s Kingdom….
    Keep up the great work! Houston, next year, eh? Exciting!

    Like

  3. Kristen says:

    Good point, Michelle. I don’t remember which egalitarian writer asked this– but if God is angry with those who bury their own talents, how does He feel about those who bury other people’s?

    Like

Leave a Reply

