A modern activist

As those of you who are regular readers of this blog know, I call you to action.  What action you take is up to you, but I challenge you to speak up and speak out and let others know that Christian women are tired of second-class citizenship.

Saturday, I stopped at a hair salon that I hadn’t been to in a while to get my hair trimmed. 

The stylist was a Hispanic young woman and as she was washing my hair, she asked me how I styled it.  I said to this young lady, “I’m old-fashioned.  I just use curlers on the top because that is all I know how to do.”  I am sure she was imagining an old lady in a robe and curlers and with one foot in the grave and the other on a banana peel.

I grinned at her and said “I’m not entirely old-fashioned.  I’m an activist.”

Then I told her that I work every day for her, and for women’s equality in the churches. I explained a little of what I did and she asked me how long I had been doing it. I told her that it has been for over two years since I started.

“Have you seen any change?” she asked.

I told her no, I have not seen any change.

Change will come, I assured her.  One day 30 years from now when she is in church with her  kids lined up on a row, she will see the change.  Then I realized the kids would be too old to be lined up with her.

“They’ll be my grandkids!” she said. “And I will tell them that I met this lady and cut her hair, and she was working for women to be equal in church.”

I go to different hair salons, and when I do go to the same salon, I always get a different stylist to do my hair.  I have gotten some really bad hair cuts.  But I have spread the message to these women and men stylists. They are all ages, and they need to know that someone is working for women’s equality in the church and in the home. 

Won’t you join me as we spread the word to all we meet that Christian women should be equal in the church and in the home?  Will you be an activist?

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Demand for an Apology from the CBMW, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A modern activist

  1. TL says:

    Had to laugh at the curlers on the top of the head. Once in a while I do that too. I’ve a colic on the top of my head and that’s the only way to get a poof out of it. 🙂

    And yes, I’m an activist also. If you’re ever going to vacation in Hawaii, let me know. We’ll plot and plan over some tea or a smoothie!

    Like

  2. TL says:

    I would truly look forward to both of you and anyone else visiting me here and chatting on these and other subjects. 🙂

    Like

  3. Retha says:

    Shirley, you have not changed things only when the CBMW disbands, or when Baptists vote to allow women preachers. You have caused change when one man or woman rethink his hierarchal doctrine – and he treat his wife as more equal, or she is emboldened to do more for the word- even if it has to be outside her denomination. Keep on working for change, and know the drops are making a stream, and the stream will become a river.

    Like

    • Thank you. That is very encouraging. You are absolutely right about the CBMW and the Baptists won’t vote to allow women to preach. I think that we will have to grow up around them, and encompass them while they shrink and become closed to the Word. Thank you for your comments, and thank you for reading my blog. We will make a stream together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

