Does it matter who is behind the wheel?

Again, in this post I find a comparison between the way Muslim women are treated and the way some American Christians view women.  That can be attributed to the fact that it was 2000 when I first began to be aware of how Baptists were discriminating against women.  

At that time I had a supervisor who was a Christian Arab.  One day before 9/11, I was reading the newspaper at work and read how American military women were complaining because when they were in Saudi Arabia, they could not drive their vehicle.  All these things began to come together to me.  As you will see in today’s post.

 Al-Salah is tired of being a driven woman. Literally.  She lives in Saudi Arabia, the only country in the world where women can’t drive.  Al-Salah learned to drive in New Hampshire.  She is a divorced woman working as an IT in the oil industry in Saudi Arabia.

Women have to have a male driver.  Some have relatives to drive them, and others pay up to $400 per month for a driver.

So Al-Selah decided to do something about it.  She started a facebook page called “Teach me how to drive so I can protect myself.”  It has been removed.  Then someone started a counter page which called for men to beat Saudi women who defied the ban on driving.  They were to beat women with the cord used to fasten the traditional headdress that the men wear.  Women have little or no protection in the courts against assault and even rape.  That page has also been removed.

Al-Selah spent time in jail for advocating for something that we find so ordinary.

But apparently there is some problem here in the United States among some Christian people about who is behind the wheel. 

I want to refer you back to one of my earlier posts – Women-the reason we can’t win the war in Afghanistan Posted on August 9, 2010 by bwebaptistwomenforequality

Which says: 

Recently I was told that that I had the “Spirit of Jezebel” which is the equivalent of calling me a witch because I calling for women’s equality. It is awful when a Christian man in my home town in Texas calls a Christian woman a witch. Read about the Spirit of Jezebel and you will see that women who want to be treated as equals are being accused of witchcraft by many in our churches today. (end of quote)

This man is an active member of a denomination that allows women to preach.  Read on.

This Christian man went on to ask me who did the driving when my husband and I went somewhere.  Did I have to drive, or did I let him drive?

You see the same attitude here that the Saudi’s have?  Oh, we can drive, but when there is a choice of who does the driving, it should be the male. What difference does it make who is behind the wheel? 

We have reduced the gospel of Christ to some silly man-made interpretation of men’s and women’s roles.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Does it matter who is behind the wheel?

  1. Michelle says:

    Yes! I suppose the sex/gender hierarchalists aren’t taking Saudi Arabia into account when they boast about the way that the “Christian” practice of quieting women’s voices in the church and in the home is “countercultural”.

    In the spirit of a conversation taking place in comments on another of your blog posts, I’d like to add this (quoting you with a small change at the end), “We have reduced the gospel of Christ to some silly man-made interpretation of men’s and women’s lives.”

    Like

  2. Terri Tippins says:

    We are really at the point that for women to be silent means that we accept the limitations and restrictions put upon us. I know very well the term “Jezebel”. Been called that before but, then there is also the “spirit of Jezebel”. She just abides (through women of course) in church until she can seize upon the moment to cast a spell on other women (or men) where it concerns gender and spiritual equality.

    My husband has stood faithfully by my side on the issue of women in the Church. He went as far as to dismiss himself from church business meetings because “the women” were not allowed. After a while there was another meeting about 6 months later (my husband did not attend or know about) to take a vote on having open meetings for church business…………..it was voted on and now we have meetings where all church members attend. This win might seem small to some people but it was huge in my eyes. Every church that we had attended before had church business strictly for the women ………cleaning, cooking, visitation at the nursing homes, babysitting etc. So, being able to attend church business meetings after all these years was a pretty big victory in our church.

    Like

    • How that saddens me to hear how people of God can restrict women like that. What do they think we are?!! I rejoice with you for this victory, but I know that there are other things you are still not allowed to do. My heart is burdened right now. I have tried so hard to get the word out – and I have made many mistakes in doing so. It occurred to me that when we do it the so-called “right way” and that doesn’t work, then we must do it the “wrong way.” (I have a story in mind for that, too. Everything leads to a story).

      Like

Leave a Reply

