The Prince’s Bride

The alarm went off at exactly 3:00 a.m. Don and I jumped up and put on our clothes because we had to be dressed to watch the Royal Wedding. I put on the coffee, and over coffee and sausage biscuits, we took in all the pageantry and excitement of the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton.

We had been there at those same gates looking in to Buckingham Palace, and we had paid our fee and toured Westminster Abbey a few years ago. We watched as she got into the car to go to meet her prince. What a lovely dress she wore, and with such dignity, poise, and grace, with a hint of pure joy.

Every little girl dreams of her Prince.

We are not little children anymore, and we can look at the picture with a different set of eyes, and experience. It saddened me to see Kate wearing a veil covering her face because today women are not bound by the Middle Eastern tradition of covering their faces before they see their husband.

It also saddened me to see a 29 year old woman given away by her father to her husband, as if he had ownership of her which allowed him to do so. We have a lot of traditions without thinking about where they came from.  These traditions seem innocent enough, and we do it because our friends do, or because it looks pretty.

We may find beauty in the picture, but let’s not forget that women do not have to cover their faces, and they can not be given away to a husband, even if he is a prince.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Prince’s Bride

  1. Michelle says:

    I was also sad to see the veil, so I’m glad I was not the only one. All done up in white and veiled to show off her virginity (extant or not beside the point that I am making), and no corresponding show for the Prince.

    I didn’t watch the wedding, so I didn’t know that her father “gave her away”. Ugh.

    I did hear that the Bible that was read from was the NRSV, so people heard “brothers and sisters”, rather than the all too typical “brothers,” and that the vows the couple made to one another were identical, so I am happy about both of those.

    I will add that the idea that “every little girl dreams of her Prince”, in addition to being inaccurate (even for girls who are heterosexual people), feeds the same attitudes above that we *don’t* like. FWIW, I did not spend time playing wedding, or “dreaming” about my wedding day, and was not seeking marriage when I met my husband. I didn’t know whether I was ever going to get married, and it was not something that worried me, particularly.

    Like

    • I remember pulling petals off of a blackeyed-Susan and saying “he loves me, he loves me not,” and also pulling off the petals and saying the abc’s and whatever it stopped on, that would be what my future husband’s name would start with. Yeah, I’m guilty. I dreamed of getting married, and met and married my husband after only 8 weeks, barely 18 years old. And I wore a veil which had no significance to me whatsoever back then. It was borrowed, as was my wedding dress. I must have been speaking for myself in this post. (LOL)

      Like

      • Michelle says:

        Wow. I can’t imagine that, any more than folks who’ve always dreamed of getting married could imagine (perhaps) being in my shoes. It’s great that we’re all made differently–I think that recognition of that is key.

        One of the great sorrows of the pink and blue world that US pop culture and advertising, and Christianity via hierarchical complementarianism, promote is that it denies the individuals God created us to be. As long as we buy into the myth that males are this and females are that, we don’t have to get to truly *know* each other as people, and then how well do relationships of any sort (friendships, co-workers, marriages, etc.) work? I think that the idea that God made us in two flavors like that is offensive to the complexity of the humanity that God did create.

        Like

  2. TL says:

    It may be that culture and parental influence speak into those dreams more than we wish. Those alien like Barbie Dolls have probably put a desire for small waists, big boobs and no butt lanky legs in many a young girls expectations of beauty. As well, the idea that women are beautiful rather than smart has been ingrained in men and women by movies (though some are trying to change that now) and advertisements selling stuff with a beautiful woman holding it or beside it. While it is natural for both men and women to appreciate their bodies and to attach some desire to use them to attract the opposite sex, this does not need to become a preoccupation by either.

    The wedding was beautiful and they did a great job in cementing in a new practice. Hopefully, future brides of the Royal family can take further steps away from traditions that have no meaning anymore.

    Like

  3. Mabel Yin says:

    There is no “obey” clause in the vow, it was also taken out when Diana was duped into marrying her “prince”, which turned into a frog. Sorry, I should not insult the frog. He turned into an adulterer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

