Almost Persuaded – Part 3 of 4

This is the third in a series of four of an email conversation I had with a Baptist pastor.  You are only seeing my response, but I think you will find it interesting.

Now as to nuances and degrees.

I am not sure what the current prevailing meaning of those terms are.  I tried to find out by researching through the internet, but couldn’t really find out what ‘degrees’ meant.

I understand ‘nuance’ to mean that it is extremely difficult to translate a word from the original Scriptures into English.  To do so, we must know what the word meant to those people in those times, and find a word that describes the same thing in English.

Using that meaning, I certainly believe that we have misinterpreted the Scriptures regarding a multitude of things.  I believe that we often have chosen which meaning to use because it coincides with what we want to believe.  I see that with the scriptures regarding women in ministry.

I have spent many hours reading about egalitarian versus complementarian and the nuanaces given to those scriptures supporting each view.    I came to the conclusion that we are beating that horse to death with the same scripture arguments and not getting anywhere.  It is like the neurons in our brains are following the same path and cannot get free to see any other way.  So we must go at it in another direction. 

And that is what I am attempting to do.  I attempt to use satire as you will find in my cartoons on my website, humor as you will find in my letters, poetry (We Twitter, We Facebook, We Blog), and other ways to get the message across.  I am afraid most do not get the humor, but when you allow yourself to see it, it is there.  I take the risk of making many people angry at me.

Today I had lunch with a group of older women who were celebrating finishing “Esther – Its Tough Being a Woman” by Beth Moore.  The 25 year old daughter of one of the women asked this question to the group and I jumped in before anyone else could speak to answer.

“When did it quit being all right for men to have multiple wives?”

I told her that it was never all right for men to have multiple wives, and that it has not stopped even in our own United States.  Many Mormons illegally have multiple wives, the Fundamentalist Latter Day Saints (FLDS) do, the Muslims can have 4 wives and probably do in the US, and our missionaries encounter that in the African countries today. 

But it was never right.  God worked through people who did have multiple wives as we know.  

I quoted what Jesus said “Moses permitted you to divorce your wives because your hearts were hard. But it was not this way from the beginning.” (Matt 19:8).  He starts out by saying that “in the beginning the Creator made them male and female…and the two will become one flesh.”  That eliminates multiple wives or husbands.  (I would add this to the original letter:  That law has never been abolished within the Jews, and as recently as 50-60 years ago, some Jews immigrated into Israel with multiple wives.  However, I stick with my original belief – that it was never right.  It couldn’t have been right to have multiple wives, because today we have hinged the whole Baptist religious doctrine on “husband of one wife.”) (yes, I know – that is a corruption of meaning – but that is my attempt at humor!) 

I reminded her that the Bible is a record of how things were – warts and all.  We also learn from the Bible how things ought to be. 

This was my attempt today to help a 25 year old woman begin to think.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Do Baptists Really Believe That?, Equality for women in Southern Baptist churches, Marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Almost Persuaded – Part 3 of 4

  1. chaidrinkingfool says:

    “I reminded her that the Bible is a record of how things were – warts and all. We also learn from the Bible how things aught to me. ”

    “ought to be”?

    Keep up the writing: Your voice is needed (though I have met some big-city Mennonites, btw, who dressed like pretty much anyone else here).
    Thanks.

    Like

  2. territippins says:

    It is funny that alot of women seem to get the nervous nellies when you began to talk about equality between the sexes (most girls/women do not have a clue what the word egalitarian means). I have found myself in whisper mode so, that no passing person could over hear the discussion. I have wondered why this is?

    My two daughters (19, 14) know all to well what thier mom believes. They really make me giggle sometimes. They have had different discussions with (of all people) Baptist teenage boys who will feed them the submission line (which really means that it is time to shut up) and they just tell them, “let me go get my Mom.” 🙂

    Like

  3. KR Wordgazer says:

    Hah. Even people who buy the wifely submission stuff should admit that this does not mean teenage boys have any right to expect teenage girls to submit to them. Good grief. What kind of garbage are these kids being fed?

    Like

    • That is exactly the kind of garbage they are being fed. A 17 year old boy tried to tell me about women – how weak they were physically and emotionally. Please read my demand for an apology from the Council on Biblical Manhood and Biblical Womanhood, because we have great concerns when boys are taught this stuff about girls.

      Like

  4. Lydia says:

    Best to call them “masculinists”. We are “Mutualists”.

    Yes, these boys are being taught early. I see it in my daughter’s private Christian elementary school all the time. The funny part is that she has matured early, is a head taller than all of them… and would probably have to save them out of crisis if physical strength is involved.

    In fact, I would have to save Russell Moore (fervant patriarchal Dean at SBTS) if there was a crisis. He is so tiny, he probably weighs 100lbs soaking wet. My 5’11 frame would have to carry him out of the fire. :o)

    In the age of technology and intellectual property, brawn and emotions are not a deciding factor in most situations.

    Like

    • I am reading a book right now by Tracie Peterson, and she seems to be into the double-speak of equality, so I think it is complementarian. She has a character whose mother is involved in the suffragette movement, and the claim is made that they don’t like men and have no need of men. That bothers me. Then she idealizes housewifey chores, but also loves education. She even has her character mention women preachers. The overall idea is that women have certain roles, but that education is good.

      Like

  5. Lydia says:

    All comp doctrine is “double speak” as in Orwellian. Some animals are more equal than others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

