Create in me a new song – Part 8

Ordained women in ministry

We talked about the Catholic family at the dinner table and now we will address the two ordained women who were among our group.

When I originally wrote the story, I just said that there were two ordained women ministers.  Before I published it, I realized that I had to add “They were married with husbands and families, and were traveling with a larger group of women from their church.”

You know why I had to add that?  It is true, but it had to be added because whenever a Baptist sees two women ministers traveling together, it fuels the flame that only women homosexuals want to preach.

Listen to Cindy Kunsman’s speech at the Seneca Falls 2 Christian Women’s Rights Convention.  She tells of when she spoke at a Southern Baptist Seminary meeting.  They didn’t like something that she said, and caught flak for it, so after the meeting they accused her of being homosexual, even though her husband of 29 years was sitting in the back of the room.  Cindy is a Special Consultant for the Freedom for Christian Women Coalition www.FreeCWC.com.  All speeches can be found on that website.  In fact, Cindy designed the website, so much credit goes to her.

I have avoided this subject on my blogs and my website because it doesn’t have one thing to do with equality for women.  Paul never linked the two, Jesus certainly never did, and if Jesus nor Paul did, why do Baptists feel they have to?

So let’s move on.

I have met several ordained women ministers in the past year.  They were all married, and several had even been divorced and were remarried.

None were preaching.  None had pastored a church, but they all had a ministry within the church.

I am out of my understanding here because I really don’t know the events around these women’s lives nor what brought about their ordination.  I suppose each woman would have a different story.

I did meet several Baptist women who were ordained when I attended a Baptist Women in Ministry  (BWIM) luncheon last year.  I would love to know their story.

I would also love to know your story.  Are you a woman ordained into the Gospel Ministry?  If so, would you share your story with us?

The story of the ordained women fit this series because while we are blogging each day, and pleading for understanding for equality for women, there are mainline Christian churches out there who have already made that decision to ordain women.  These churches have moved forward and have seen the future that includes women, while we are on the outside looking in.

Create in us a new song where women are accepted like Jesus accepted the woman at the well, and Mary Magdalene, and Mary who sat at his feet and learned.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in A new song and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

