History has been moving toward this moment

I was listening to Doug Phillips’ video of his sermon at the Seneca Falls 2 Christian Women’s Rights Convention on July 24, 2010.  You remember this convention, don’t you?  It is the one where we demanded an apology.

Doug’s opening remarks said that the time has come.  That history has been heading toward this moment when women would be free and have equal rights, and that the time has come.

You can hear his whole speech at  http://vimeo.com/15017093

You can hear a short clip of his speech at  http://www.tangle.com/view_video?viewkey=2a94916d4af0d62d525a

(We are very much in debt to Cindy Kunsman for editing and putting these videos on the internet.  Thank you, Cindy.)

Doug and I both were suffering from sinus problems which left our voices raspy, but nevertheless, it is the words that count and Doug spoke very powerfully on women’s equality.

“History has been moving toward this moment.”  I loved that.  That gave me hope and comfort.

Every once in a while I have to ask God why he has allowed women to be mistreated throughout history.  The answer keeps coming back to me that individuals are always responsible for how they treat others. 

 I know that, but sometimes I just want the whole situation to be taken care of, and women everywhere and particularly in my hometown, and the Baptist churches, and the Catholics, and the Churches of Christ, and the non-denominationals, and the Presbyterians, and …….  Well, just everybody, to accept that God did not single out the males and leave females behind in his glorious design.

But like all of you, I needed to hear words of hope and Doug Phillips gave me those words.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Seneca Falls 2 Christian Conference and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to History has been moving toward this moment

  1. Cindy K says:

    Actually, Tangle only has a short clip of Doug Phillips’ talk.

    The whole presentation can be viewed here:

    You can also download podcasts from the conference (including Pastor Doug’s) HERE:
    http://www.undermuchgrace.libsyn.com/

    <>

    Like

  2. Cindy K says:

    Shirley,

    In the process of preparing clips for YouTube and Tangle and in converting the video to an audio file I ended up listening to the presentation several times. I wept every time. Though my husband and I share the Word of God with one another, I felt like the Lord washed me clean with the water of the Word through Pastor Doug’s faith-filled Words.

    My husband says often that “No good deed goes unpunished,” and I tend to respond by having minimal expectations. It is nice to aspire to “hope for the best, yet prepare for the worst” while remaining positive. It takes a constant stirring up of the Lord’s promises and feeding on the Word of God, washing in the clean water of faith. Doug articulated that faith well, and I found myself greatly encouraged again and again. Jesus and His central message involved setting the disenfranchised free, empowering them with His love and His presence.

    I hope that many more find it as encouraging as I did, many times over.

    BTW: You can also watch the same clips on YouTube, too, at http://www.youtube.com/user/FreeCWC. Over the next week, I’ll continue to post short more short clips.

    Like

  3. Lydia says:

    http://www.baptistlife.com/forums.htm

    Did you guys see this? Mohler is embarassed about thinking women could be ministers at one time in his life.

    Like

  4. Lydia says:

    “I saw it. Dr. Mohler has a big ego, and everybody is afraid of him.”

    BTW: If you read the comments, Mrs. Oswalt’s comments are priceless! As a dedicated comp, she points out how hypocritical several of these SBC men have been about being comps. She starts with Mrs. Criswell teaching a mixed group for 30 years!

    Like

  5. Anne says:

    Shirley, I know this post is a year old but I saw it and have a question to ask, just so I can be sure. This Doug Phillips is not the same Doug Phillips behind Vision Forum, but a different one? Am I right?

    It’s probably an obvious question.

    Like

Leave a Reply

