Lord, Lord – oh its just my husband

1 Corinthians 11:3 kept running through my mind all day long.  “Christ is the head of the man, the husband is head of the wife, and God is head of Christ.”

Over, and over and …….

Husband, will you pray that our children are safe tonight?

Husband, I have a friend that is in need of prayer, would you intercede on my behalf for her to Christ?

Husband, my head hurts and I think I am sick, would you ask Christ to heal my body?

Husband, will you ask Christ to keep our grandkids safe and help them make the right choices?

Husband, will you ask God to protect our missionaries?

Husband, will you tell God how beautiful I think this world is, and how much I loved hearing the birds sing this morning?

Husband, will you thank God for the food that we have?

Husband, what did the pastor mean when he said that women in the First Century were second-class?

Husband, if I have to ask you to go to Christ for me, what would I do if I weren’t married?

Husband, could I go directly to Christ myself?

Husband, do I have to call you Lord…….

Suddenly I started shaking and thrashing about in bed, and saying “Lord, Lord.”

Don woke and put his arms around me and said “Why did you call me Lord?  I am a human being, just like you.  Go back to sleep.  You must have had a nightmare.”

We are all living in a nightmare.  This nightmare that began with the Danvers Statement on Biblical Manhood and Biblical Womanhood that caused people of good sense to lose their minds and give husbands authority over their wives.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 11:3 explained, Male Headship fallacy, Scriptures explained, The Danvers Statement on Biblical Manhood and Biblical Womanhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lord, Lord – oh its just my husband

  1. Mabel says:

    Amen.

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    You mean just another depraved sinner saved by the exact same grace as you are? Or another believer who can have the same indwelling Holy Spirit as you can?

    That husband? :o)

    Like

  3. ‘You must have had a nightmare.’

    Yep! lol I had to giggle at his response!

    Like

Leave a Reply

