Drowned in the River of Male Headship

Concern #2 from the Demand for an Apology from the Council on Biblical Manhood and Biblical Womanhood

2.      we are concerned about the sin that evangelical church leaders commit when they deny the love of Christ fully to women simply because they were born female;

When I was a kid I heard that girl babies in China were thrown into the river with the crocodiles.   I couldn’t understand why.  That didn’t make sense to me.  It was years before I found out that it was because the girls had no value in their society.  Even today they prefer to have a male child.  Girls can be found in the orphanages for adoption while males are not adopted out unless they have a birth defect.

We don’t throw our girls in the river.  We drown them, nevertheless.  We drown them in the water of inequality, submersing them under the headship of their husbands, their fathers. 

Done because of their birth as a female and for no other reason.  Oh, we claim the Bible tells us so.  At least the Chinese were honest about it. 

The Chinese didn’t even try to give her equal-but status.  The mothers were as bad as the fathers, denying their girls the chance at life.

There, but for the grace of God, go you.

Will you be the one who throws a girl child into the river of male headship?  Or will you be the one who rescues girls from a certain death.

Your choice.  Your voice.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Male Headship fallacy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Drowned in the River of Male Headship

  1. Mara says:

    I’m surprised a whole bunch of gals haven’t jumped on this one.
    I know what you are saying about being shocked at such things being done in China.
    As a daughter to my parents who loved me, a friend among girls who had parents that loved them, this awful practice, when first learned of, was a slap in the face.

    For my daughter, I think her first slap in the face was when she was reading over my shoulder the other day about that Islamic cleric who blamed the recent increase in earthquakes on the promiscuous (sp?) women.

    What the Heck? Was her response. It really set her off. Especially in her world where she is encouraged to pursue her talents in writing, music, and sports. And she’s part of a girls’ sports team that can beat the boys at her grade level in basketball. (Wouldn’t that cleric hate to hear THAT!) And we, as parents, each knowing the worth of our own talented daughter, are delighted to see other talented girls all put together to… prehaps… just perhaps… put together to make they the next state basketball champions for our very sports minded little town.

    I know. I ran off a bit. But no one was commenting so I thought I’d fill the void.

    Anyway. To go from this awesome, our girls can play basket ball with the best of them, including the boys, to… Women can’t be pastors. Well, this is why I’m involved in this debate.

    My daughter, and my daughter’s friends are awesome. The sports world wants them, the music world wants them. What is wrong with the Christian world that they want these girls to sit in the back seat. Sit down, shut up, and don’t make waves, just drowned in the back seat. (mixing metaphors)

    These promoters of male headship have a lot to answer for squeltching and squandering the gifts on God in women.

    Like

    • The sad thing is that the Mothers treat their daughters this way. The Mothers of all people should speak up for their daughters. By the way, my husband said I should be using Masculinists to describe male headship because they use the word feminists to describe those of us seeking equality. Visit my website and see the new things I have put up.

      Like

      • Lydia says:

        I asgre about using “masculinist” to describe their religion.

        The point of your post, which uses cultural truths to prove a point, is that this idea of men being in authority over women is pagan.

        The more I read over at CBMW, the more I see how Mormonish and Islamic they sound. Those religions are full of rules and roles.

        Like

      • You are exactly right. One comment on the Associated Baptist News asked us why we were concerened about this instead of the Islam. I didn’t point out to him that “this” is so close to Islam that it is frightening.

        Like

  2. Lydia says:

    They cannot see the rules and roles are like Islam because they use adjectives to mask it…a lot. :o)

    And they ‘redefine’ descriptions like authority to describe it as a responsibility instead of what it is..wanting to be preeminant. They also redefine sin from what scripture teaches. They cannot see their insistence on preeminance is sin.

    This doctrine is seriously a sin trap for men, too. I do not hate men. I care for their souls and what this doctrine is doing to them.

    Like

    • You touched on a good point. Whenever we say anything against this, we are called men-haters. None of us hate men. I have a wonderful husband and 2 wonderful sons. Why would I hate men? But, by their wanting to be in control, they actually bash women. They laugh when they talk about women submitting (John Piper in his interview), and they get some kind of unhealthy emotional gratification when they talk about women submitting to their husbands. But we don’t accuse them of hating women. Maybe we should, but we don’t.

      Like

Leave a Reply

