Breaking through the Boundaries

Martin Luther King, Jr., said “I have a dream.”

I, too, have a dream.

I have a dream that in the hallowed churches named First Baptist Church, a woman deacon will come forward to serve the Lord’s Supper.

I have a dream that young women graduating from seminaries will have churches to pastor.

I have a dream that pastors will love people more than they love legalism and restrictions that have bound women for centuries.

I have a dream that women will no longer be coerced into submitting to their husbands, and that marriages instead will be one of mutuality.

I have a dream that Wayne Grudem’s list of what women cannot do in church be thrown down the toilet.

I have a dream that women will no longer be told they do not have biblical qualifications simply because they are women.

I have a dream that 122 people will not write in the comments under blogs that “the bible says” women must remain silent and not have authority over men.

I have a dream that John Piper’s words about women will not be treated as gospel.

I have a dream that the Council on Biblical Manhood and Womanhood will fold up because there is no more interest in the gospel according to the Danvers Statement.

I have a dream that I can close down my blog and website and go to sleep at night without trying to figure out how to bring about equality.

If you, too, have a dream, will you join other men and women who have this same dream.

For one week, will you pray each day for women’s equality?

Almighty God, father of all your children, both men and women, we open our hearts to you as we plead for justice. As Martin Luther King spoke so eloquently for equality for black men and women, we plead for equality for women – white, black, Asian- women of all nationalities who are struggling under oppression. Lord, help us to get our house in order regarding equality for women so we can be an example to others. Amen.

About bwebaptistwomenforequality

Shirley Taylor writes with humor and common sense, challenging the church body to reclaim equality for Christian women.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking through the Boundaries

  1. Kristen says:

    That human beings will be judged not by their genitalia by by the quality of their character. Yes.

Leave a Reply

